As of January 1, 2015, Child Abuse Recognition and Reporting training will be required under Act 31 of 2014. This legislation impacts all individuals who are mandated reporters in the state of Pennsylvania.
The Pennsylvania Department of Public Welfare (DPW) must approve Child Abuse Recognition and Reporting training in order for it to meet the needs of Act 31. A complete list of approved providers can be found at the Pennsylvania Department of State website. Click "Mandated Child Abuse Reporter Training Under Act 31" to view the list.
At this time, BHTEN is NOT an approved provider for the Act 31 Child Abuse Recognition and Reporting training. We are offering information about Act 31 in order to help support individuals looking for more information about these new training requirements.
Here is an update on essential information related to Act 31 and its effect on mandated reporters:
For LSW, LCSW, LPC and LMFT license holders- new licensees must complete 3 hours of training, licensee renewals must have 2 hours of training
These training hours can count toward the overall number of training hours needed to maintain licensure
Per the law, the Department of Public Welfare (DPW) must approve the training in order for it to meet the requirements of Act 31
The law takes effect 1/1/15, but you can take a course before that date if it is from a DPW approved provider
DPW, in conjunction with University of Pittsburgh and the Pennsylvania Child Welfare Resource Center, has developed a 3-hour online training program which is free of charge to assist individuals in complying with the training requirements under Act 31. The website for the Pennsylvania Child Welfare Resource Center is listed on the "Mandated Child Abuse Reporter Training Under Act 31" link referenced above.